While in Memphis…

1 10 2008

I’ve been in Memphis for the past week or so on business.  I pretty much hooked up a BBQ rib IV into my arm so I haven’t had the time to write.

I did, however, read Dave Zirin’s piece entitled “Leave Josh Alone” where you will find his commentary on the unfortunate public outcry against Mr. Josh Howard.  Zirin pokes holes in the insane backlash against a 3-second clip taken from a cell phone camera.

Athletes’ public personas are addressed.  It always interests me how some athletes are demonized for expressing themselves.  In the meantime, reporters are baffled that other athletes seem to only deliver canned phrases like “taking it one game at a time.”

The issue of fusing sports and nationalism together is intriguing.  I’ve never quite understood why the concept has stayed past World War II and I’ve commented on it several times here.  I’ll let you read his article because the last paragraph is worth the wait…

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

